Dairy-Free Vegan Caramel Popcorn
This dairy-free caramel popcorn recipe is suitable for people with milk allergies as well as for vegans to enjoy butter-free caramel popcorn!
- Serves: 8 persons
- For the Popcorn:
- ½cup olive oil (or grapeseed oil)
- 4tablespoon margarine (dairy-free soy)
- 1cup popcorn kernels (unpopped)
- 1teaspoon salt
- For the Caramel:
- 1cup sugar
- 1cup dark brown sugar (packed)
- ½cup light corn syrup
- 3tablespoons water
- 3tablespoons margarine (dairy-free soy)
- ½teaspoon vanilla
- ½teaspoon baking soda
Step 1Before beginning, set aside a large baking sheet lined with wax paper.
Step 2Prepare the popcorn. In a 4- or 5-quart stock pot with a lid, combine the oil, margarine and popcorn kernels over high heat, frequently shaking the pot back and forth to heat the kernels as evenly as possible. Once the first kernel has popped, place the lid on the pot and continue to shake the pot to keep the kernels from burning. Once the kernels have filled the pot, transfer the popped popcorn to a large bowl and toss with the salt. Set aside.
Step 3Make the caramel. In a large saucepan over medium-high heat, combine the sugars, corn syrup, and water, mixing well until the sugar is dissolved. After the sugar is dissolved, let the mixture boil, unstirred, until light amber in color, about 8 to 10 minutes; wash down the sides of the pot with a wet pastry brush from time to time to prevent crystals from forming.
Step 4Turn off the heat and add the dairy-free soy margarine and vanilla, carefully stirring to distribute the margarine. Remove the pan from heat and sprinkle the baking soda over the mixture, stirring to distribute. Immediately pour the caramel sauce over the popcorn, stirring quickly to distribute. Spread the popcorn onto the prepared sheet and allow to cool completely before serving. Popcorn will keep for 2 weeks in a dry, airtight container at room temperature.